• 0

Blindman's Chess

Question

Posted · Report post

Look, a checkmate!

post-53237-0-25798500-1365093031_thumb.j

What piece will the blindman (playing white) touch next?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

18 answers to this question

  • 0

Posted · Report post

a. nxp ck b. nxn

b. qb8 !! ---bishop 8---

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

Is he unable to see or does he put up blinds?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

I assumed that he was blind.

Is he unable to see or does he put up blinds?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

A player playing chess blindfolded is not touching any pieces at all.


Nxc6+ Nxc6
Rd5#

White have mate in two:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted (edited) · Report post

do you mean Re5?

Edited by BMAD
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted (edited) · Report post

do you mean Re5?

I'm sure, he meant R x d5 checkmate.

However, there are many people out there who do not need a chessborad with pieces to play chess, and those people don't have to be actually blind.

The answer is

none.

Blind man does not play by moving his pieces, he simply announces his moves.

Whether his next move would be N x c6 to make the checkmating combination as found by Witzar is another question. The position is strange. Looks like both sides must have made some random moves leading to this point in the game. So anything is possible.

And after looking closer at other posts, I see Witzar has already given that answer.

Edited by Prime
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

He can touch the pieces and the clock (touch move rule is also observed) ..he can imagine them in 3D like the blindfolded Rubik cubes solver.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

a. nxp ck b. nxn

b. qb8 !! ---bishop 8---

that would be illegal

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted (edited) · Report post

a. nxp ck b. nxn

b. qb8 !! ---bishop 8---

that would be illegal

if i am currently at queen 6, then my queen can go to king 7 and end at bishop 8. what am i missing?

Edited by BMAD
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

a. nxp ck b. nxn

b. qb8 !! ---bishop 8---

that would be illegal

if i am currently at queen 6, then my queen can go to king 7 and end at bishop 8. what am i missing?

You are using a different notation. Other people here use algebraic notation, where columns are numbered "a" through "h" from left to right (on the White's side); and rows are numbered 1 through 8 from White's side to Black's. Your notation is called "descriptive". When you say qb8!!, it could be confused with algebraic Qb8. In descriptive notation correct designation of the move you suggest would be: Q-QB8?? (Queen to Queen's Bishop 8).

After which White loses his Queen: BxQ. (The Black's Bishop on g4, or in descriptive notation, the Bishop on KN5 (King's Knight 5) takes the White Queen.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

He can touch the pieces and the clock (touch move rule is also observed) ..he can imagine them in 3D like the blindfolded Rubik cubes solver.

In that case, it could be anything at all. After all, the man is blind, and there is nothing in the OP to suggest he can see two moves ahead.

However,

He could grab the pawn on c6 first, then put his Knight there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

He can touch the pieces and the clock (touch move rule is also observed) ..he can imagine them in 3D like the blindfolded Rubik cubes solver.

In that case, it could be anything at all. After all, the man is blind, and there is nothing in the OP to suggest he can see two moves ahead.

However,

He could grab the pawn on c6 first, then put his Knight there.

that would be illegal

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

He can touch the pieces and the clock (touch move rule is also observed) ..he can imagine them in 3D like the blindfolded Rubik cubes solver.

In that case, it could be anything at all. After all, the man is blind, and there is nothing in the OP to suggest he can see two moves ahead.

However,

He could grab the pawn on c6 first, then put his Knight there.

that would be illegal

By what rules? I haven't played in any official tournament in awhile. Have the rules changed recently? From what I remember, if you touch your opponent's piece first, strict adherence to "touch move" would require capturing that piece if possible.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

If it is Black's move, Blindman can still grab any piece, as long as he says "adjust" before. (He may want to check whether his Queen is still there.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

There is no change in rules and it is still blind man's turn.

As a rule Blindman's opponent must announce his move before making a move.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted (edited) · Report post

White can grab his queen rook from a1, place it at d1 and complete the castling move. Checkmate in one (or half a move , from the displayed position)

Edited by bonanova
Add spoiler
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

White can grab his queen rook from a1, place it at d1 and complete the castling move. Checkmate in one (or half a move , from the displayed position)

Hi DoctorStupid, Welcome to Brainden !Enjoy the den..

Yes,that is the only legal move. Thanks for solving.

note: you can hide your solution by clicking the button above when posting or type "

your text and image files

". You may preview it just click [Preview Post]

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

OK. But why all squares of the chessboard are of the same color on the picture?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.