Jump to content
BrainDen.com - Brain Teasers
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
kingofpain

Question

So there was a test match being played between Australia and India. Australia made 605 in the first innings thanks to a double century by Hussey and centuries from Ponting and Clarke. India reply with a mere 116 with Stuart Clark taking 6 wickets. After being shot out, Sreesanth and Harbhajan combine (hehehe!) to dismiss Australia for a mere 66 runs. After negotiating some incisive bowling with the new ball, India lose 3 quick wickets bringing Laxman to the crease. Laxman takes the attack to the Aussies and scores another match saving triple century with able support from the slow Dravid. It is now day 5 and 89 overs have been bowled on the day. Last over coming up. Laxman is at the crease with the 11th man Sreesanth at the other end. India have now scored 554 with Laxman making 393 of those runs. Laxman takes guard and thoughts of an improbable Indian victory flash through his head. Right then, he looks at the scorecard and wonders if there is a way to make a 400 and match Lara's effort. He banishes the thought and tickles the ball to fine leg for 4 leg byes and India win!

If Laxman had been a bit more selfish, could he have scored a 400 while taking India to victory?

Cheers!

--

Vig

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Guest

If Laxman is on 393 runs, he needs 7 runs to get 400.

He couldv'e hit a six of a no-ball or recieved a no-ball and then hit a six on the next shot.

However, this is the bowler's error and cannot be guaranteed.

Edited by Sonic_Hedgehog

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest

have ut I think

Basically he needs to hit the ball into a space where they can run 2 runs but when running deliberately not touch his bat down in the crease when turning for the second run. That way he gets back on strike but the umpire [if he spots it - perhaps best to warn him!] will only award 1 run. He then needs to hit a 6! Easy!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

mharbot's got it with a small caveat :)

Complete a run while the ball is in the air because once India scores the requisite runs, the game is considered over

Sonic - If he scores off a no ball, India would win and the game would end.

Cheers!

--

Vig

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...