BrainDen.com - Brain Teasers

Question

Question

This is neither a riddle nor a joke, but I simply wanted to know if others shared my opinion, or, if not, what their opinion was.

What is your definition of an arguement, or a dispute?

14 answers to this question

An argument can be one of several different things, depending on the context. If relation to this forum, I generally consider an argument a person's justification for their answer to a puzzle. However, an argument can also be a heated and often emotional discussion about a topic, as who should do the dishes after diner. Since a I also a programmer by profession, an argument can also be a parameter value passed to a program, procedure of function.

I generally consider a dispute to be similar to the second definition, but generally not as intense.

I believe that an arguement is an impolite disagreement between two or more people. A polite disagreement would the situation where two people disagree, but they accept the other's different point of view, and go on with whatever they were doing. In an impolite disagreement, or an "arguement", two people disagree, but keep sparring with words, to either prove themselves right or the other wrong.

I have asked my brother, but he said that this was more of the definition of "dispute". What do you think?

What is your definition of an arguement, or a dispute?
I assume you are asking for a distinction between the two.

To my mind an argument is making a case for a way of thinking, or to establish a point of view.

As attorneys argue cases in court.

In that sense an argument is much the same as a debate.

Debaters need not personally hold the positions they argue.

Nor need an attorney.

S/he is hired to speak in favor of a point of view

In a dispute there is a clash of two opposing held views.

Here the protagonists actually hold the views, and they may take action

up to and including crimes of violence or as nations sometimes do, wage war.