Jump to content


Welcome to BrainDen.com - Brain Teasers Forum

Welcome to BrainDen.com - Brain Teasers Forum. Like most online communities you must register to post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process. To be a part of BrainDen Forums you may create a new account or sign in if you already have an account.
As a member you could start new topics, reply to others, subscribe to topics/forums to get automatic updates, get your own profile and make new friends.

Of course, you can also enjoy our collection of amazing optical illusions and cool math games.

If you like our site, you may support us by simply clicking Google "+1" or Facebook "Like" buttons at the top.
If you have a website, we would appreciate a little link to BrainDen.

Thanks and enjoy the Den :-)
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

Blindman's Chess


Best Answer DoctorStupid, 07 April 2013 - 09:55 AM

Spoiler for spoiler added

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#11 Prime

Prime

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 872 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois, US

Posted 06 April 2013 - 12:28 AM

 


Spoiler for I don't see mate in 1, so...

Spoiler for

Spoiler for why?

You are using a different notation. Other people here use algebraic notation, where columns are numbered "a" through "h" from left to right (on the White's side); and rows are numbered 1 through 8 from White's side to Black's. Your notation is called "descriptive". When you say qb8!!, it could be confused with algebraic Qb8. In descriptive notation correct designation of the move you suggest would be: Q-QB8?? (Queen to Queen's Bishop 8).

Spoiler for whereupon


  • 0

Past prime, actually.


#12 Prime

Prime

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 872 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois, US

Posted 06 April 2013 - 12:37 AM

Spoiler for

In that case, it could be anything at all. After all, the man is blind, and there is nothing in the OP to suggest he can see two moves ahead.

However,

Spoiler for if he's to follow Witzar's plan


  • 0

Past prime, actually.


#13 TimeSpaceLightForce

TimeSpaceLightForce

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 631 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 April 2013 - 02:40 AM

 


Spoiler for

In that case, it could be anything at all. After all, the man is blind, and there is nothing in the OP to suggest he can see two moves ahead.

However,

Spoiler for if he's to follow Witzar's plan

Spoiler for


  • 0

#14 Prime

Prime

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 872 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois, US

Posted 06 April 2013 - 03:01 AM

 


Spoiler for

In that case, it could be anything at all. After all, the man is blind, and there is nothing in the OP to suggest he can see two moves ahead.

However,

Spoiler for if he's to follow Witzar's plan

Spoiler for

By what rules? I haven't played in any official tournament in awhile. Have the rules changed recently? From what I remember, if you touch your opponent's piece first, strict adherence to "touch move" would require capturing that piece if possible.


  • 0

Past prime, actually.


#15 Prime

Prime

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 872 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois, US

Posted 06 April 2013 - 03:14 AM

Spoiler for another possibility


  • 0

Past prime, actually.


#16 TimeSpaceLightForce

TimeSpaceLightForce

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 631 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 April 2013 - 03:58 AM

Spoiler for

As a rule  Blindman's opponent must announce his move before making a move.


  • 0

#17 DoctorStupid

DoctorStupid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 April 2013 - 09:55 AM   Best Answer

Spoiler for spoiler added


Edited by bonanova, 07 April 2013 - 07:09 PM.
Add spoiler

  • 1

#18 TimeSpaceLightForce

TimeSpaceLightForce

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 631 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 April 2013 - 01:05 PM

White can grab his queen rook from a1, place it at d1 and complete the castling move. Checkmate in one (or half a move , from the displayed position)

Spoiler for


  • 0

#19 witzar

witzar

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 205 posts

Posted 07 April 2013 - 08:19 PM

OK. But why all squares of the chessboard are of the same color on the picture?


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users