BrainDen.com - Brain Teasers

Question

I am having a bit of trouble understanding how to work with the formal definition of limits. Here is the problem I'm stuck on:

f(x) = x2 - 1

Find δ such that if 0 < |x - 2| < δ then |f(x) - 3| < 0.2

I have this so far:

L = 3

ε = 0.2

c = 2

δ = ?

|x2 - 4| < 0.2

0 < x - 2 < δ

So yeah, all I've really gotten is the values plugged in and simplified. Could someone give me an explanation on how to finish this?

**for reference, the formal def. of a limit is:

"Lim(x->c) f(x) = L" means that for each ε > 0 there exists a δ > 0 such that if 0 < |x - c| < δ, then |f(x) - L| < ε

2 answers to this question

Maybe you could replace the < with = on both equations, then calculate the 2 possible values for your function, and out of those you get the values for x, but one of them will be smaller than 2, so you get the other one and find your delta. I'm not sure this would be mathematically correct though. I don't know why, but I'm studying limits at college right now and the teacher never mentioned anything about finding the delta. He only said that the limit exists if there's a delta even for a really small ε. Maybe it's because it is an Engineering class.

I am having a bit of trouble understanding how to work with the formal definition of limits. Here is the problem I'm stuck on:

f(x) = x2 - 1

Find δ such that if 0 < |x - 2| < δ then |f(x) - 3| < 0.2

I have this so far:

L = 3

ε = 0.2

c = 2

δ = ?

|x2 - 4| < 0.2

0 < x - 2 < δ

So yeah, all I've really gotten is the values plugged in and simplified. Could someone give me an explanation on how to finish this?

**for reference, the formal def. of a limit is:

"Lim(x->c) f(x) = L" means that for each ε > 0 there exists a δ > 0 such that if 0 < |x - c| < δ, then |f(x) - L| < ε

You are proving that the limit of x^2-1 as x approaches 2 is 3.

This means that if you pick any ε which is greater than zero:

it is possible to find a δ, also greater than zero, such that